International Certificate of Competency (ICC) details

SQ banner 47

What is the ICC?

The ICC is an internationally recognized, government approved yachting certificate and is now required for operators of recreational and charter vessels on both inland and coastal waters in a large part of the European Community. The ICC is a product of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) Resolution 40. The ICC provides documentary assurance from one government to another that the holder meets the levels of competence laid down in Resolution 40.

This certificate is recommended for students living in or planning to charter yachts in the EC countries and other areas around the Mediterranean Sea. Although only guaranteed to be accepted in countries that have adopted Resolution 40, the ICC is a useful document to carry and will be accepted where proof of yachting competence is required.

In very general terms an ICC is required for the inland waterways of Europe and for inland and coastal waters of Mediterranean countries. For the coastal waters of Northern Europe the ICC is generally not required, however to all of these generalizations there are exceptions.

How can I qualify for the ICC?

Students who successfully complete the SailQuest IYT Bareboat Skipper course are automatically qualified for the ICC Coastal certificate for sail & power vessels up to 24 meters. You can add the Inland (CENVI) endorsement to this certificate by completing an additional exam, also available at the time you complete your sailing course with SailQuest.

These certificates are available at an additional cost. You will be able to order your ICC certificates on the last day of the class, following the IYT Bareboat Skipper’s exam. SailQuest will process ICC certificates together with the students IYT Bareboat Skipper and other IYT certificates.

SailQuest strongly recommends this government recognized certificate to all of our qualified students as an excellent back-up certificate to your IYT certificates and to maximize the areas where you will be qualified to operate and charter yachts around the world.

Who may receive a SailQuest/IYT ICC based on Resolution 40?

SailQuest/IYT can issue the ICC to any students whose country is not listed below.

In accordance with UNECE Resolution 40 (Revision 4), citizens and residents of countries that are listed below, that are signatories to Resolution 40, will be obliged to obtain an ICC from their own national issuing authority and not from SailQuest/IYT.

However, it is possible for SailQuest/IYT to issue the ICC to citizens of the countries listed below, if the applicant can provide proof of residency* in a country not on this list.

For example: an Austrian National living in Spain or Greece that can provide “proof of residency” in Spain or Greece (or any other country that is not on the list below) would be allowed to receive an ICC from SailQuest/IYT.

*Proof of residency (examples): Utility bill (electric or gas), Property tax bill, Telephone bill, Insurance bill, etc.

As of May 2016 the following countries are affected by this Resolution 40 policy:

  • Austria
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • South Africa
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine

Is there a period of validity for the ICC?

The ICC is valid for a period of five years.

SailQuest/IYT Certificate Renewal

For many IYT/ICC certificates, there is the need to renew your certificate every 5 years. This ensures that our certifications are meeting international standards. See instructions for SailQuest/IYT Certificate Renewal